Granola with Instant Oats

I usually carry a Larabar with me everywhere I go. It’s a vegan protein bar, something easy I can throw into my bag and snack on if need be (the apple pie one, out of this world with a cup of tea!). The only problem is that they are kind of expensive to be buying each week. I’ve recently put myself on a budget and Larabars were the first thing to go.

I need something I can bring as a quick snack when I’m on the run, so why not granola?! I’ve never made granola before, so I pulled out my La Dolce Vegan book and rummaged through the pages. The recipes call for rolled oats flakes (all I have is instant). After a few google searches I threw everything I read into one big granola making pot (instant oats included)!

The best part?! It’s all in my cabinets!

4 cups instant oatmeal
1 cup wheat germ
1 cup nuts (I used slivered almonds)
1 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup agave nectar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
2/3 cup of apple juice (or cranberry!)
1/4 cup of oil
1 cup dried fruit (I used cranberries and raisins)

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, except the dry fruit.

Spread mixture onto baking sheets (I used 2) and bake for 20-25 mins on 325*. Make sure you stir the granola every 10 minutes!

After the granola has cooled, add in your dried fruit!

Store in an airtight container!

Use as a snack to go, as cereal with soy milk, in a parfait! The options are endless!

Peace, Love, Vegan

20130114-092432.jpg

About Sheenagh Caridi

I am 28 years old & I've decided to start to live a healthier life. It's obvious that I am not getting any younger & I want to make sure I am at my healthiest for when I get married & start to have children. I've been a vegetarian for 14 years, but have not made the best decisions, cheese, pasta & bread is an awful diet to survive on. I work crazy work hours, & find it impossible to sleep, let alone make positive food choices. I've recently decided to be completely vegan, not only does animal cruelty hurt my soul, but the effects of a vegan lifestyle help our earth & hugely help our bodies. It comes down to making an effort to getting up & making everything you consume. We all need to learn how to fuel our bodies with the right foods. You only have one life & one body, make it all ridiculously amazing. Peace, Love, Vegan
This entry was posted in Vegetarian/Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

