Bulgar Stuffed Peppers

This came out better than I could have ever imagined! I totally outdid myself this time. I’ve made stuffed peppers before, but the bulgar takes it to a whole new level. I may forever be obsessed with it!

It’s my first time working with bulgar (virgin alert!) and I can’t wait to use it again. It has such a hearty texture that I don’t think my animal eating friends (yea I have many of them) wouldn’t even know the difference! Can’t wait to trick someone!

2 large green peppers, to stuff
1 cup of bulgar
2 cups of water
1 cup of Boca Grounds
Mushrooms, I used 3 whole ones
Red pepper chopped, I used half of a small one
Garlic minced, 2 cloves
White onion, 1/4 chopped
1 Roma tomato, diced
Fresh parsley
Black Pepper
Garlic powder, never enough garlic!
Cumin
Cayenne, be careful not to over do it! A couple sprinkles is all you’ll need!
Salsa, 1/4 cup
Vegan Parmesan

In a small pot bring bulgar & water to a boil, cover & cook for 10-15 mins on medium heat, or until all water is absorbed (like cooking rice).

Sautée onions, garlic, red pepper, mushrooms in oil & add Boca grounds.

Once the bulgar & vegetable mix have finished combine to two into a mixing bowl, add salsa and combine all ingredients.

Add in vegan Parmesan if you like it sprinkle it on the top of your peppers once you’ve stuffed them.

Cut off the tops of your peppers, clean them out and stuff away!

Bake for 30-35 mins or until soft at 350*

This makes 2 servings! One for dinner and one for lunch.

I made a mashed sweet potato on the side and didn’t even touch it. The pepper was very filling!
If you have left over mixture, save it for tomorrow’s dinner and make an awesome vegan bolognese sauce!

Peace, Love, Vegan

20130108-220734.jpg

About Sheenagh Caridi

I am 28 years old & I've decided to start to live a healthier life. It's obvious that I am not getting any younger & I want to make sure I am at my healthiest for when I get married & start to have children. I've been a vegetarian for 14 years, but have not made the best decisions, cheese, pasta & bread is an awful diet to survive on. I work crazy work hours, & find it impossible to sleep, let alone make positive food choices. I've recently decided to be completely vegan, not only does animal cruelty hurt my soul, but the effects of a vegan lifestyle help our earth & hugely help our bodies. It comes down to making an effort to getting up & making everything you consume. We all need to learn how to fuel our bodies with the right foods. You only have one life & one body, make it all ridiculously amazing. Peace, Love, Vegan
This entry was posted in Vegetarian/Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

