Sweet Potato and Chick Pea Burgers

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, but I’m back with some awesome recipes!

A Facebook friend of mine has a great page called Dolores’s Dishes! Definitely find and like her! She posted a link for a sweet potato burger and I instantly had drool pouring down my chin. I put my own twist on it and it’s fabulous! Messy, but it’s all part of its charm!

1 can chick peas, drained
2 medium sweet potatoes, mashed
2 tablespoons tahini
2 tablespoons agave
1 tsp lemon pepper seasoning
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 clove garlic chopped
1/4 onion
1/4 red pepper
Handful of fresh spinach
Salt, pepper, cayenne, garlic powder & nutritional yeast to taste (or any of your favorite seasonings!)
Panko

Peel, boil and mash sweet potato.
In a blender, roughly mix chick peas, agave and tahini.

Pour mixture into a pour with sweet potatoes and add in the rest of the ingredients. Combine and form into patties. This made about 4 large burgers. I pressed the parties into Panko on both sides.

Bake for 12-15 minutes on each side, or until brown, at 425*

Serve on a whole grain bun with onions, avocados, tomatoes, fresh spinach or over a salad with tons of veggies!

Prepare yourself for the deliciousness to take over you!

Peace, Love, Vegan

20130104-174848.jpg

About Sheenagh Caridi

I am 28 years old & I've decided to start to live a healthier life. It's obvious that I am not getting any younger & I want to make sure I am at my healthiest for when I get married & start to have children. I've been a vegetarian for 14 years, but have not made the best decisions, cheese, pasta & bread is an awful diet to survive on. I work crazy work hours, & find it impossible to sleep, let alone make positive food choices. I've recently decided to be completely vegan, not only does animal cruelty hurt my soul, but the effects of a vegan lifestyle help our earth & hugely help our bodies. It comes down to making an effort to getting up & making everything you consume. We all need to learn how to fuel our bodies with the right foods. You only have one life & one body, make it all ridiculously amazing. Peace, Love, Vegan
This entry was posted in Vegetarian/Vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

